Return to Great Books and Classics welcome page
Sir Thomas Browne (1605-1682)
Brother Lawrence (c. 1605-1691)
John Milton (1608-1674)
(The Mayflower Compact) (1620)
Moliere (1622-1673)
Blaise Pascal (1623-1662)
John Bunyan (1628-1688)
Christian Huygens (1629-1695)
Benedict de Spinoza (1632-1677)
John Locke (1632-1704)
Jean Baptiste Racine (1639-1699)
Sir Isaac Newton (1642-1727)
Gottfried Wilhelm von Leibniz (1646-1716)
Daniel Defoe (1660-1731)
Jonathan Swift (1667-1745)
William Congreve (1670-1729)
George Berkeley (1685-1753)
Alexander Pope (1688-1744)
Baron de Montesquieu (1689-1755)
Voltaire (1694-1778)
Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758)
John Wesley (1703-1791)
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)
Henry Fielding (1707-1754)
Samuel Johnson (1709-1784)
David Hume (1711-1776)
Jean Jacques Rousseau (1712-1778)
Laurence Sterne (1713-1768)
Denis Diderot (1713-1784)
Adam Smith (1723-1790)
Immanuel Kant (1724-1804)
Edmund Burke (1729-1797)
Edward Gibbon (1737-1795)
Thomas Paine (1737-1809)
James Boswell (1740-1795)
Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)
Antoine Laurent Lavoisier (1743-1794)
John Jay (1745-1829)
Jeremy Bentham (1748-1832)
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (1749-1832)
U.S. Political and Historical Documents

All links verified as of March 2, 2017
List of Works
[Mayflower Compact]   [Articles of Confederation]   [Federalist Papers]   [Anti-federalist Papers]   [Constitutional Convention Debates]   [U.S. Constitution]  
Works listed on separate author's page
[Declaration of Independence]   [Emancipation Proclamation]   [Gettysburg Address]   [Lincoln's First Inaugural]   [Lincoln's Second Inaugural]  

The Mayflower Compact (Nov. 11, 1620) [HC]
[Top of page]

The Articles of Confederation (Nov. 15, 1777) [GBWW,GI,HTR,HC]
[Top of page]

The Federalist Papers (Oct. 1787 - May 1788) [GBF,GBWW,GI,HTR,HC]
The Federalist Papers were written by James Madison, John Jay, and Alexander Hamilton under the shared pen name of
[Top of page]

The Anti-Federalist Papers (1787)
[Top of page]

The Constitutional Convention Debates (1787)
[Top of page]

The Constitution of the United States (Sept. 28, 1787; took effect March 9, 1789) [GBWW,GI,HTR,HC]
[Top of page]

Links to other Great Books sites Feedback, suggestions, criticisms - what did you think of the site? Latest updates to the site Help with site symbols and navigation